40 Days, 40 Prayers

Day 35, or Already There

 

There is a dread that fills me each time I prepare for confession. Despite the knowledge of the joy and peace that is to follow, despite the closeness to God and the strength in my faith I know it brings me, each time trepidation rises within me in anticipation.

 

But why do I fear? All that waits for me in confession is the breaking of my chains, the release from my burdens, the slate wiped clean. My sins are a fact that can’t be changed, and they’ll cling to me and hold me back until I release them. God already knows my failings. Nothing I say will surprise Him. What He hasn’t heard is me admitting my weakness.

 

So I should be running to forgiveness, to redemption, to mercy, to transformation, to love. He’s already there waiting for me.

 

 

Isaiah 1:18

Come now, let us argue it out,
says the Lord:
though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be like snow;
though they are red like crimson,
they shall become like wool.

 

My prayer for today:

 

Lord Jesus Christ, have mercy on me, a sinner.

Leave a Reply

