40 Days, 40 Prayers

Day 19, or Just One Thing

 

There are many times when I bury myself in thoughts of all the things I want to change about myself. I want to learn this, I want to be better at that, I want to magically make years of progress instantaneously. I want to change everything about myself and everything about the world. But where to start? It can feel like the weight of the world weighing on you.

 

But the weight doesn’t belong to me. It’s not up to me to change the world overnight. I’m not meant to transform into the best version of myself all at once.

 

I’m meant to fall, fail, and struggle, and through this to learn, grow, and, little by little, to become a better person than I was before. There is value in every state of our being.

 

Changing the world is well within our capabilities. We do it all the time. Every day, every person, every action renders it a different place, by every tiny thing we do differently than yesterday. The weight of the world rests on us all, and we carry it like a feather on our back, unaware of its presence until someone tells us it’s there.

 

The transformation of my soul that I’m so impatient for would come about so much faster if I stopped worrying and complaining, and instead started today, by changing just one thing.

 

My prayer for today:

 

Father, You have given us this life to live it to the full, and not to squander in wishing and worrying. Help me to be present in today, and to be grateful for all the little victories I’ve already had through Your mercy.

 

Amen.

Leave a Reply

