30 Days of Writing Prompts, Part 3

Prompt #3: Describe your relationship with your parents.

In a word: close. Growing up, I was fortunate enough to be homeschooled. My dad, of course, was at work most of the day, but I would be with my mom pretty much 24/7. The older I get, the less time I spend with her, but I still spend a lot of time with both my parents.

Now of course, literal closeness is not the same as emotional closeness. But I would say even in that regard the word to sum up the relationship is, “close.” My parents have always done everything for me. We argue and frustrate and annoy each other plenty. But most of the time, we talk, we learn from each other, we grow together. We all have wisdom to share.

My mom and dad do so much for me and my brothers. They’re the ultimate example of real, totally sacrificial love. So the second word I would use to describe my relationship with my parents is, “grateful.”

 

Leave a Reply

